+91 9718673999/9810273909 Call : +91 9718673999/9810273909


Home - Yoga - Samadhi

A state of deep absorption in the object of meditation, and the goal of many kinds of yoga. In Buddhism the term refers to any state of one-pointed concentration. In Hinduism it signifies the highest levels of mystical contemplation, in which the individual consciousness becomes identified with the Godhead.

Samadhi is of two kinds:

  1. Sampragyat
  2. Asampragyat
    1. Sampragyat:
It has four sub-kinds:
1 Vitrakaanughat (logical reconciliation)
2 Vicharaanughat (thoughtful reconciliation).
3 Anandanughat (joyful reconciliation).
4 Asmitaanughat (unifying reconciliation).

Logical reconciliation: The practitioner experiences the existence of all the materials of tangible worlds. Absence of words and logic is the main characteristic of this reconciliation.

Thoughtful reconciliation: After experiencing the existence of tangible objects, the practitioner enters the stage of thoughtful reconciliation. Experience of all the micro and divine objects characterizes this stage. The practitioner has now raised the above the level of dilemma, logic and arguments.

Joyful reconciliation: Feeling joyful because of experiencing all the macro and micro objects marks this stage of reconciliation.

Unifying reconciliation: In this stage, the conscience of the contemplator unifies with the contemplative. With perfection, the practitioner begins to experience the presence of a divine self. Some scholars say that at this stage the practitioner actually sees his own spirit or soul.
2. Asampragyat Reconciliation
This is the supreme state of reconciliation and follows the Sampragyat reconciliation. Actions or Karma have no meaning in this stage.

It is the human conscience that enables him to distinguish between the self and the supreme soul. But during supreme asceticism, this conscience no longer exists. When this state of supreme asceticism attains stability, the spirit comes to stay in its original form and illuminates the inner ambience of the practitioner. All the miseries, sorrows, and sins are destroyed at this stage.

Such practitioners, who have attained unification with the supreme soul remain free from miseries of mundane matters and attain salvation after death.